GameNight Recap for July 2nd – A good July 4th has beans. And dice. Dice with beans.

Rolling for freedom!

Rolling for freedom!

Happy Wednesday Before America’s Birthday! or HWBAB (pronounced hwuh-bab) for short! This week, Jon, Abhishek, Chuck, Laura, and myself celebrated our independence in the best way we knew how.  By playing board games! And before you ask, no I didn’t bring Hanabi.  Click through to see what we did play!

It takes a lot of Wisdom to play this game well.  Unless the history card is fewest Wisdom cards.

It takes a lot of Wisdom to play this game well. Unless the history card is fewest Wisdom cards.

The first game of the night was Chronicle, a trick-taking game from my current game designer man-crush, Seiji Kanai.  Seriously, the guy could make a 2p game with two cards, one that said win and one that said lose, and I’d still buy multiple versions of it.  Chronicle is such a great game with surprising depth and loads of replayability.  Unfortunately, even though it’s relatively straightforward structurally, it’s still one that I have trouble teaching to new players and making sure everybody’s clear on how everything interacts.  Abhishek jumped out to an early lead with 2 fame, even though I’m pretty sure he wasn’t 100% sure how he got there.  The next history card we flipped was the one where whoever didn’t have any Evil cards got a point. This lead to the four of us trying to come up with a way to get Abhishek an Evil card.  We failed to do it, and he ended up winning.  And he didn’t even realize the game hinged on it!

Sometimes I take shitty game pictures because I generally set the games up facing away from me to help teach better.

Sometimes I take shitty game pictures because I generally set the games up facing away from me to help teach better.

Game two of the night was Dice Town by Bruno Cathala and Ludovic Maublanc.  Early on in my gaming hobby/addiction, I caught wind of Dice Town and put it on my BGG wishlist.  It stayed there for a long time, and even fell off the list.  Eventually it caught my eye again and with store credit to burn, I picked up a copy.  I’m glad I did! I’m pretty sure Laura will not be picking this one up, as she remarked that her kids would get way too much enjoyment out of making a ton of noise with those dice cups!

Jon leaped out to what appeared to be a solid lead, ending up monopolizing the Gold Mine.  Come to find out after the game was over, he wasn’t intentionally doing it, he was just having some trouble identifying the best hand to be rolling for since he wasn’t familiar with poker.  Bad teacher! I early on snagged a general store card that was going to give me 8 points at the end of the game, and I successfully dodged multiple Queen actions through some subterfuge and misdirection.  Unfortunately, I spent so much time and energy protecting that card, I neglected the majority of the rest of the game.  Abhishek really enjoyed being the sheriff and many times tried to claim that as the sheriff he should be protected from any thefts.  Chuck was silently focusing on best poker hands and going for a land grab.  In the end, though, Laura’s approach of covering all scoring options, including an unintentional lucky last grab of the sheriff by having the lone King face in the final round edged her past Chuck by only a few points.

This game was so active, I barely had a chance to snap this really dumb picture, so I'd have something to post.

This game was so active, I barely had a chance to snap this really dumb picture, so I’d have something to post.

The third and final game of the night was a rerun from last week, Wurfel Bohnanza by Uwe Rosenberg.  This one was the most active game of the night with the most table talk I’d seen in a long time!  Even though there was practically nothing the active roller could do to affect their rules, save for which type of dice they locked, everyone was yelling and bartering to have them roll the colors they needed.  Abhishek started to sound like he was placing an order from a take-out joint! He coined the phrase of the night, by requesting two brown dice from an active roller, and when he didn’t get them, he replied with “Carry on”.  I proceeded to impersonate (read: butcher) his Indian accent and told him to “Carry on” every chance I could get.  In the end, Jon showed shades of Dan’s rolling prowess from last week and took the win.

All in all, everyone had a great time.  It was great to have Jon back after his minor back surgery, and having a good solid player count of five always makes for a good time.  Until next week, in the immortal words of Abhishek, “Carry on!”

About Copac

Hey, I'm Copac

Posted on July 2, 2014, in GameNight Recap and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

