Post-GenCon Stream of Consciousness

It’s Sunday, August 17th. 3:24 pm. It’s the last day of GenCon 2014. I have this little voice in the back of my head that’s screaming at me to run back into the vendor hall and buy more games. I’m ignoring him, because he’s whiny and his voice is super nasally and it just kinda pierces your eardrums. I’m tired.

For the past two years, game conventions have become my vacations. Some people go to beaches or take cruises or go to fancy resorts. I go to crowded convention centers and spend four days constantly saying “I’m sorry” and “Excuse me” as I move my way through the throngs of people. Some people relax and sleep in and do as little as possible on their vacations. I stay up until 3 in the morning, get back up at 9 and rarely stop. And surprisingly enough, I love it and am feeling melancholy and a bit sad that tomorrow, after I drive home, life goes back to “normal”

Tabletop gaming or card gaming or board gaming or however you want to classify it has changed my life over the past couple of years. Mostly it’s made me cringe every time I think about being completely broke when I retire and having to live under an overpass in a fort built out of Dominion game boxes. No, really, it’s been an amazing thing.
I’ve met so many fun, interesting, fascinating and unique people. I feel like a kid who gets to go to camp and see all his camp friends twice a year. So many uproariously good times have been had. I’ve improved on the piano for an interpretive dance portion of a game design contest. I’ve played countless games of Las Vegas with plenty of table talk and empty threats of violence.

I would be remiss to leave my melancholy rose-colored glasses on (also they hurt my eyes and they need new nose pads) for this post. There have been plenty of rough spots. These conventions are so chock full of people to see and things to do, it’s hard for me not to take it personally when I’m not included in that cool thing “everybody”‘s doing. And while all of the people I’ve met are good people, we’re all human beings with inherent flaws and sometimes those flaws lead to stress and tension. But that’s just how life works. This hobby and this community isn’t exempt from that no matter how awesome it may be.

I just realized that I titled this post GenCon 2014 and I haven’t talked about much of anything to do with GenCon. So I think I’ll just rename this and do a separate GenCon themed post or posts.

 

About Copac

Hey, I'm Copac

Posted on August 17, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

